I Went to Portland and All I Did Was Eat

“Keep Portland Weird.” But, is it really all that weird? I had intended to find out, as it was my next stop on my solo West Coast trip. I had never been to Portland before nor had I been on the West Coast, so this was a major treat for me. The goal was to successfully drive from San Francisco to Portland and make it in one piece; all the while enjoying the beautiful scenery.

A little over 10 hours and 1 pit stop later, I was in Portland and quickly realizing that this city had an easy-going demeanor. Hey, nothing wrong with that! I checked into my hotel and knew that I needed to get something to eat right away, no surprise there, and do some investigating of this self-proclaimed “weird” place.

My findings: Portland was not so “weird.” In fact, it was shockingly mellow and most people kept to themselves; a far cry from the hustle and bustle of my city, Chicago. I knew right away that this was the perfect place to spend all my time eating (hands down one of my favorite things to do). When traveling, I like to plan out all the restaurants I want to attempt to eat at. Portland was no exception and I had come to find there was no shortage of wonderful food.

I spent the next couple of days keeping to myself, enjoying the views and orgasming over the delicious food.  I managed to hit up: Rock Bottom, a local sports bar with the usual sports bar eats. Dragonwell Bistro, a Chinese food restaurant with one-of-a-kind fried rice. Old Town Pizza, a haunted restaurant with rich history and great music that played in the background. Voodoo Doughnuts, an absolute must visit if you are in Portland, known for their unique doughnuts and interesting décor. Mother’s Bistro and Bar, a restaurant known for its incredible comfort food. Needless to say, I did not leave Portland hungry and most likely left about 5 pounds heavier.

Final Thoughts: I would only visit Portland again for its fucking fantastic food (I know what you are thinking: “Great use of alliteration, girl”)! The city is simple with great views, but the people were not so much my speed. Sorry Portland, but I am not that sorry.

Have you been to Portland? If so, what are your thoughts on this city?

3 thoughts on “I Went to Portland and All I Did Was Eat

Leave a Reply

