Things That Annoy the Shit Out of Me: Wedding Day Countdowns on Social Media

Oh where to begin…congrats? I am happy for you? I have never seen a more perfect couple? Is that sufficient enough for you? Is it? Apparently not because I am still reminded every day, for the next 120 days, of your special day to the point that I now have to be medicated just to login to my social media accounts these days. How is this fair to me? I am going to tell you: it’s not.

Trust me, I get it. You are going to be spending the rest of your life with the love of your life, and you want to shout it to the entire world (and by “get it,” I really don’t because I can hardly stand to be around the same person for more than a week at a time). But for the love of all that is good in this world, give us all a fucking break.  I mean shit!

Now I know this is going to sound a little harsh, but I say this because I am actually on your side. I care about you; I care about you not losing friends. But nobody gives a shit! They might pretend like they do, which is what is likely fueling your post after post after post about how you are a soon to be blah blah or how in just 100 days, 12 hours, 35 minutes and 52 seconds you will be married to the best thing that has ever happened to you. So for that, I can’t completely blame you. Please, you have to believe me, though, when I say these people that are pretending to be so happy post after punch me in the face post, are actually ready to get in their cars and drive head on into traffic. Again, only here to help you.

All I am asking here is to think a little bit more about the well-being of others. Think before you post. It’s that simple. Do we need a personal 120 day countdown until your wedding day? Nope. Do we need to know that you just spent your day registering at Target? Also, nope. Do we need to see 298 photos of you and your significant other rolling around in leaves, pretending to laugh, while gazing into each other’s eyes? Absolutely not.

Final Thoughts: Let’s stop this madness. Let’s think before we post. Help me to not want to rip up your invite as soon as I get it in the mail. That is if I am still invited…

What are your thoughts about people who constantly post about their wedding day on social media?

7 thoughts on “Things That Annoy the Shit Out of Me: Wedding Day Countdowns on Social Media

    1. Hi doctormikesblog,

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my post. I really do appreciate the feedback! It was most definitely harsh, but also meant to be a humorous/sarcastic piece and not so serious. I am glad that you do agree:)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Dang, tell us how you really feel………..lol….I ca’t stand those countdowns either. I just stop all notifications and ignore it all. It’s far easier than possibly blowing up and losing a friend. And, I really am not being judgmental here (i curse like a sailor at times myself) but the curse words actually take away from your writing. You were going along at an erudite fast and furious clip when I was jogged out of my pleasure in what you were saying by the curse. it just seems out of character. IMO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Suze,

      I appreciate the feedback and your opinions! This was definitely meant to be a sarcastic/humorous piece and not something so serious. I tend to write how I talk, but I can see how the swearing might take away from my writing. I will consider that for the next time around. Thank you for taking the time to read through my post!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. loved the way you write..and i did pick up on the sarcasm quite quickly. there are times that swearing is essential to a piece. glad if i helped in any way.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Loveeeeee this one! I’m getting married in a few months and this shit drives me insane… Like you announced your engaged.. Then you post bridal shower and Bach photos and then wedding photos and that should be it like stop trying to show everyone how excited or whatever you are on social media.. Sure I talk about it on real life bc decisions and plans have to be made… But to me im low key about the wedding people give that day too much hype and I know my 700 closest friends on fb don’t care lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

