I Would Rather Come Face-to-Face With a Bear Than Have to Move

So I am in the middle of a move right now and thought it would be a perfect time to blog about moving. I really just need an excuse to sit down with a big, delicious glass of wine (side note: I’m trying to be more descriptive in my writing and I originally had written, “big glass of wine” and then went back and added “delicious.” Like what? So unoriginal, but whatever I’m working on it. And clearly I am avoiding writing this post just like I am avoiding packing for my move). Anyway, moving has wreaked havoc on my life…

move2
A little glimpse into my moving world

For starters, I am breaking out like a thirteen year old girl hitting puberty for the first time. For those that can’t relate because you have always had near perfect skin. Leave. Right now. I don’t want to know you and don’t want to know you exist. Also, I’ve been snappy as hell and that’s not fun for anyone including myself. For those that have been dealing with me the past couple of weeks, I salute you! You all are the real heroes in life. Treat yourself to something nice. You have earned it and you have my permission.

Moving is fucking stressful. It’s such a drawn out process and every time I do it, I act as if I have never moved before and I have no idea what I am doing. I become panicky, begin to have severe night sweats and won’t shut up about my move as if I was the chosen one. As if, I’m the only one who has ever had to make a move and no one could possibly understand the pain and agony of a move.

move5
Psych! I needed to be put into a treatment facility after this move

On the flip side, I have used the excuse of moving as a hall pass for everything bad that I do lately. Such as, I know I shouldn’t have this fourth brownie with extra sprinkles and chocolate chips inside, but I am moving. And…shit, I just downed a whole bottle of wine! Oh well, it’s okay I’m stressed about my move. Also…oh man, I haven’t worked out in a month. You are good girl; you got that move coming up! Remember? Remember how you wanted to preserve all your energy just for the move? I wonder how long I will let the excuses go on for. I can see myself three years down the road being like: eh, it’s okay that I just dropped $400 on a new pair of shoes. I really earned it from that one move back in 2016.

Final Thoughts: What I am trying to say is that I would rather come face-to-face with a bear than have to move again anytime soon. And for those that actually enjoy moving, we are on completely different levels. I may even question if you are in fact human.

What do you think about having to move? How many times have you moved in your life and what are your tips for a smooth, somewhat stress free move?

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “I Would Rather Come Face-to-Face With a Bear Than Have to Move

  1. Moving is AWFUL. We moved into our house almost five years ago, and there are still unpacked boxes in our basement. I refuse to unpack them at this point, because if we move, they’re all packed up and ready to go!

    You eat all the brownies you want, girl. Wash ’em down with a bottle of red.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this delightfully funny post. I actually dread my move coming up in January. I think I’ll use your tone – and I have a 26 year-old daughter and remember well enough what a joy she was when asked to pitch in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

