Why You Should Always Reflect On Life

So life has been hectic and crazy this week, so I am going to do a quick post of reflection and what’s to come.

2016 was hands down the craziest/worst/hardest/most emotionally draining year of my life. I learned a ton about other people and their limitations and even more so, I learned a lot about myself.

I am learning that other people’s actions are not a reflection of who I am as a person. I have learned that I am an extremely strong individual and I can handle anything that life throws my way. I have learned to appreciate everything that I do have.

I have learned that even in the darkest moments, there is always something to be grateful for. I am learning that I need to put myself first and then extend myself to others. I have learned that life goes by way too fast to not go after what you want.

I have learned that if you are not happy, you need to do something about it. I have learned that if you don’t deal with your troubles, they will never really go away. I have learned to have more compassion towards others. I have learned that without the difficult times, you can’t completely relish in the good times.

Most importantly I have learned, “Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.” –John Lennon

Oh, and I did learn that wine is a good companion. As a matter of fact, it’s an excellent one. It’s always there for you and a quick sip away. Doesn’t judge and completely understands when you need to drink the entire bottle in one sitting. Consider this my personal shout out to wine

A lot of lessons learned from 2016, so what does this mean for 2017?

It means moving forward and continuing to pursue activities that make me happy and set my soul on fire. Surround myself with people that have the best intentions for me. Conquering my fears and moving past the bullshit. Take everything that I have learned and continue to grow.

I challenge you all to do the same. I also challenge you all to always be in a constant state of reflection. You will learn so much about yourself.

I want to continue to write for not only myself, but for my loyal followers (all two of you know who you are! Totally kidding, it’s more like five of you).

So what do you want to see more of from me? Less of? What have you learned from this past year and what sort of things do you see for yourself in the near future?

12 thoughts on “Why You Should Always Reflect On Life

  1. Another great post! What comes to my mind after reading your post is “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” In 2016 I’ve learned I need to stop listening or reading on social media all the negative comments about politics and our country. Hey, you don’t like it then please leave. People can be so cruel to each other, especially when they hide behind social media. So, moving forward into 2017 I hope to stop listening to the bs and remain positive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for always taking the time to read and for the support! I could not agree with you more on remaining positive and all the negative that the media can bring. I love the thoughts that you have shared:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Sam!

    Long time, no see! Like you, I had taken some time away from blogging and now have come back. I like how you’re honest about your emotions and how your posts seem conversational, just like we’re sitting in a coffee shop or a bar-and-grill place. That’s how real and raw it feels when I read your posts. Don’t ever change on that. Hope your year in 2017 is better than in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

